BMW R80/7 “Most classic Café Racer” — sold

BMW R80 /7 “The most classic Café Racer

With a sheet of paper he was standing at our front door. Our next client. A guy, in his late forties and looks like he knows what the wants. Soon, it was clear, that he attaches value to absolute perfection. We proofed this later when we had chance so see his classic car collection. Average is definitly wrong around. Hey, you have come to the right place.

Quite good exectations and vision he already had, that was clear to us. Now it is our turn to add the missing details, to season the menu to taste. We’re going to built a real classic Café Racer. Something like a bavarian Englishman.

After all the Scramblers with Boxerengines a more than lovely change, but very difficult task at the same time. Difficult in that way, cause latest after a visit on Glemseck 101 it is clear, that it is going to be the 10000 and first R-Serie Café Racer. And we did not want to show any weakness.

A base beemer with spoke wheels was found pretty quick, low mileage was a topic for instance. Engine and Gearbox have been services anyway, all parts have been polished with matte shine, same to the wheelrings and hubs, what caused us a lot of pain. Mounted with stainless steel spokes und Continental Conto Go! Reifen, maybe one of the nicests wheelsets we have used so far.

The subframe was cut in records time, shortened and lifted, our pal Wolfgang Kuzma from I-flow the glassfibre construction on the tail as well as the timeconsuming paintjob and pinstripe work. No more room for improvements.

A very nice result at the end we think.

Motorbike: BMW R80 /7
Horsepower: approx. 60 HP
Cubic capacity: 797 ccm
Modelyear: 1978

SPECIFICATIONS

– Motoscope Classic Speedo gauge
– British Style 200mm headlamp with yellow bulb
– Continental Conti Go! tires
– matte polished engine block and polished rims
– Rizoma Superbikehandlebar with internal cablerouting
– minimal elektrics with m-unit and m-button

– M-switch Microbuttons
– M-disc handlebar signals
– Brembo Performance brake pump
– brown Bi-color Paint with Goldappliques
– Rizoma Club S rear lights 3 – 1
– Genuine Leatherseat with special stiching
– sports exhaust
– One-of-a-kind License plate holder with adjustable turnsignal brackets

[wolf_single_image image=”2577″ image_size=”extra-large”]
[wolf_single_image image=”2559″ alignment=”right” image_size=”extra-large”]
[wolf_single_image image=”2571″ alignment=”left” image_size=”extra-large”]
[wolf_single_image image=”2628″ alignment=”right” image_size=”extra-large”]
[wolf_single_image image=”2623″ alignment=”left” image_size=”extra-large”]

BMW R80 /7

BMW R80/7 „Most classic Café Racer“ — sold

THE MOST CLASSIC CAFÉ RACER

BMW R80 /7 „The most classic Café Racer

Mit einem Papierzettel stand er in unserer Tür. Unser nächster Auftraggeber. Ein Endvierziger, dem man ansieht das er weiß, was er will. Das er absoluten Wert auf Perfektion legt, war schnell klar. Das sahen wir auch an seinen Oldtimern in der Garage. Mittelmaß ist hier Fehl am Platz. Bei uns ist er richtig.

Ziemlich genaue Vorstellungen hatte er schon, das war uns klar. Jetzt war es an uns, die fehlenden Details zu ergänzen, quasi die Würze in die Suppe zu rühren. Einen richtig klassischen Café Racer würden wir bauen. Irgendwie fast einen bayrischen Briten.

Nach all den Scramblern auf Boxerbasis eine willkommene Abwechslung, aber gleichzeitig eine schwierige Aufgabe. Schwierig deshalb, weil spätestens nach einem Glemseck 101 Besuch klar ist, dass es der zehntausend-und-erste R-Serie Café Racer sein wird. Und Blöße wollten wir uns sicher keine geben.

Ein Basismotorrad mit Speichenrädern war dann schnell gefunden, wenig Laufleistung war natürlich Thema. Motor und Getriebe wurden dennoch komplett serviciert, alle Teile wurden matt poliert, auch die Felgenringe und Naben verlangten uns einigen Schweiss ab. Komplettiert dann mit VA Speichen und Conti Go Reifen, wohl einer der schöneren Radsätze, die wir bis dato verbaut haben.

Der Subframe war schnell zerschnitten, gekürzt und erhöht, der Kollege Kuzma von I-flow zeichnete dann verantwortlich für den GFK Aufbau und die aufwändige Lackierung und Goldlinierung. Geht wirklich nicht mehr besser.

Herausgekommen ist, so denken wir, ein sehr respektables Ergebnis.

Specifications

Motorrad: BMW R80 /7
Leistung: ca. 60 PS
Hubraum: 797 ccm
Baujahr: 1978

– Motoscope Classic Instrument
– British Style 200er Scheinwerfer mit gelber Birne
– Continental Conti Go! Bereifung
– matt polierter Motorblock mit Anbauteilen und polierten Felgenringen
– Rizoma Superbikelenker mit interner Kabelführung
– Minimal Elektrik mit m-unit und m-button

– M-switch Microtaster
– M-disc Lenkerendenblinker
– Brembo Performance Bremspumpe
– Braune Bi-color Lackierung mit Goldakzent
– Rizoma Club S Rückleuchten 3 – 1
– Echtleder Sitzbank mit Quersteppung
– Sportauspuffanlage
– Eigens angefertigte Kennzeichenbefestigung mit Rücklichtaufnahme